European funding allocations 2014-20

The Government has announced how the €6.2 billion allocation of European Regional Development (ERDF) and European Social Fund (ESF) funding will be allocated in England over 2014-2020.

It has been decided that funding from the ERDF and ESF plus some of the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development (EAFRD) will be combined into a new, decentralised EU Growth Programme and allocated to Local Enterprise Partnerships (LEPs) areas.

ESF aims to help people improve their skills, gain qualifications, and secure jobs whereby ERDF helps businesses to grow and develop.

Funding for the two programmes runs on a seven-year cycle. The next cycle will operate from 2014 to 2020 and is expected to start from January 2014.

The allocation to individual LEPs who cover part of the East Midlands is as follows:

  • Derby, Derbyshire, Nottingham and Nottinghamshire - €249.7 million
  • Greater Cambridge & Greater Peterborough - €75.5 million
  • Greater Lincolnshire - €133.5 million
  • Leicester and Leicestershire - €126.3 million
  • Northamptonshire - €55 million
  • Sheffield City Region - €203.4 million
  • South East Midlands - €88.3 million.

Allocations for the part of EAFRD being channelled through the EU Growth Programme will be published at a later date by the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

All allocations are subject to final agreement on the EU regulations and the EU 2014 to 2020 Budget in the European Parliament. The European Commission will also need to agree the UK Government’s specific proposals.